City Council

University Place is governed by a COUNCIL/MANAGER form of government. Each council member is directly elected by the citizens of University Place to serve a four-year term. Elections are held every two years and alternate between the seven-member council. The Mayor is elected by the Council from among its members for a two year term and presides at City Council meetings.

The City Council establishes policy by enacting ordinances and resolutions determined to reflect the needs of the community. The Council appoints the City Manager, adopts the City budget, approves appropriations and contracts in the City's name, levies taxes, and enacts franchises.

Working closely with the Council are several Commissions and the City Manager. The Commissions, comprised of citizen volunteers, advise the City Council. The City Manager, appointed by the City Council, serves as the chief executive officer of the City, managing daily business by directing the work of the City Staff and enforcing the City’s laws.

Position Name Title Term Expires Contact  
#5 Denise McCluskey Mayor 2017 253.878.8039 Biography
#1 Javier Figueroa Mayor Pro Tem 2017 253.226.3927 Biography
#2 Kent Keel Council Member 2015 253.878.8041 Biography
#3 Steve Worthington Council Member 2017 253.565.4855 Biography
#4 Ken Grassi Council Member 2017 253.878.8057 Biography
#6 Chris Nye Council Member 2015 253.878.8042 Biography
#7 Caroline Belleci Council Member 2015 253.878.8040 Biography


Council Meetings and Records
Council Rules
Council Goals 2012
2013-2014 Goals and Outcomes
2015-2016 Goals and Outcomes
City Vision Statement